Spokane County WA Homepage
News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/6/2020 3:03:24 PM to 5/3/2020 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash

Public Works

Posted on: February 6, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Commute Smart Champions honored at annual CTR event.

SPOKANE COUNTY, WA, February 6, 2020 – At today’s 24th Annual Commute Smart Champions event, the program recognized the “Champions” in Spokane County that go above and beyond to make Commute Trip Reduction a success. The event was hosted by Spokane County and the cities of Airway Heights, Cheney, Liberty Lake, Medical Lake, Spokane, and Spokane Valley.

The Commute Trip Reduction Law began in 1991 and was updated in 2006. The impact of this program continues to be incredibly significant to our region. Daily, over 6,200 trips are removed from our roadways and over 131,000 miles are not being driven. Looking at it from a yearly perspective, over 1.6 million trips are removed and over 34 million miles not driven in and around our community!

101 out of 110 Commute Smart worksites achieved a Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze level award in 2019 and were recognized. These remarkable results are critical to maintaining the quality of life we all enjoy in the Inland Northwest.

Commute Smart Northwest and Transportation Demand Manager LeAnn Yamamoto also announced the winners in a new awards category that was started last year – the CTR Jurisdiction Champion Awards. Awards were determined by taking the Commute Smart Champions averages from the employers in each jurisdiction, awards were presented to the jurisdictions.

The jurisdictions that received the CTR Bronze Champion Award:

• City of Airway Heights – City Manager, Albert Tripp

• City of Liberty Lake – Mayor ProTem Mike Kennedy

• City of Spokane – Council Member Candace Mumm

• Unincorporated Spokane County – Commissioner French

The jurisdictions that received the CTR Silver Champion Award:

• City of Cheney – Council Member Jill Weiszmann

• City of Medical Lake – Council Member Heather Starr

• City of Spokane Valley – Deputy Mayor Brandi Peetz

The event concluded with the presentation of the 2019 awards for the All-Star Team and three Pinnacle Awards. They also received letters of recognition from Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers, U.S. Senator Patty Murray and U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell.

The All-Star Team award is designed to honor an outstanding worksite Commute Smart Committee. Many employers have formed committees to assist the worksite Employee Transportation Coordinator (ETC) in promoting commute options and communicating with employees. Committee members act as building or department representatives by answering questions, keeping employees informed and encouraging participation.

All-Star Team Award winner: Spokane Falls Community College 

The Commute Smart Champion for outstanding commitment to commute options by an organization is called the Pinnacle Award. As the name implies, the employers who receive this award each year have gone far beyond the minimum requirements to demonstrate a firm understanding of the true benefits of trip reduction activities -- cleaner air, healthier employees, reduced traffic, and an overall enhancement of the quality of life in Spokane County. In addition to a well-rounded CTR program, the selection of a Pinnacle Award winner is made after consideration of management support, ETC commitment and participation, continued enhancement of the worksite’s CTR program and demonstrating an innovative approach to trip reduction strategies. They are Spokane County’s true CTR champions.

Pinnacle Award winners: Spokane Regional Health District


                                             WA State Department of Ecology

For more information, go to: www.commutesmartnw.org 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Public Works

  1. Spokane County WA Homepage

Contact Us

  1. Spokane County

  2. 1116 W Broadway Avenue

  3. Spokane, WA 99260

  4. Contact Us

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow